I Am Not A Beggar For Love

By Sonya Rehman

I am not a beggar for love,
Not a pauper,
So don’t give me your hand-me-downs,
They don’t work,
They never will,

I am strong, see,
A woman of the world,
I take what I want,
And I want what I can get,

I am complete,
Fearless,
Invincible,
Can’t you see?

I am not a beggar for love,
Not you,
Let this thin film of bravado,
Quiver across,
This damaged heart,

Because I am a woman of the world,
Strong,
And broken,
Strong,
And yet too tender,

I am not a beggar for love,
But throw me your discards of affection,
And I will lap it up,
Because.

I am a pauper,
I always was.

Photo: Shashwat Saraf [National Geographic]

Photo: Shashwat Saraf [National Geographic]

3 thoughts on “I Am Not A Beggar For Love

Leave a Reply

